Spitting Nails and other Pointless Activities

copy-of-scary-betty
Scary Betty.

I’ve been helping to get a new Creative Writing Group up and running in Charlestown Arts Centre, here in County Mayo. It is proving to be an interesting exercise in perseverance and determination – and of course, creativity.

We’ve a core group of hardened scribes with significant publication credits to their names, alongside biro-wielding retired ladies looking for something interesting to pass the time on a Monday morning. Plus a few others who drop in and out, who aren’t quite sure if creative writing is their thing.

Over the years, I’ve belonged to a number of different writing groups, some more enjoyable than others, but all ultimately helping to invoke the creative muse.

My favourite kind of group meeting involves some writing time with inspirational prompts, as well as chit chat and the exchange of writing news and information. An opportunity for constructive criticism  can be included, too. And to be absolutely top dollar, there has to be a cup of Earl Grey and a ginger biscuit or two to hand. Which is where we are with the Charlestown Creative Writing Group, every other Monday from 10.30 am until 12.30 pm (next meeting October 24th 2016, new members welcome!).

But it is proving to be an opportunity for me to shoot myself in the foot as I share information about competitions and submission deadlines with my fellow writers. I’ll be entering too, which means we will be competing against each other.

By now, I’ve had enough successes (and failures) to know that the whole process is so subjective that it often isn’t just about writing skill. Which means anything can happen, and often does.  Like when I’ve encouraged fellow group members to enter a competition and they’ve ended up being shortlisted and I’ve not. Which is where the nail-spitting comes in – although like most negative emotions, anger is usually a waste of energy.  And I speak as a hot-headed ginger child who grew into a (mostly) placid, (mostly) blonde adult…

One of the fun warm-up exercises we did recently was to write a verse for one of the following greetings cards:

  1. a) Sorry You’re Leaving;  b) On Your Retirement;  c) It’s A Boy!  d) Bon Voyage;  e) Congratulations!

Sounds easy, right?

Wrong!

I found it really tricky, even using a rhyming dictionary (no, it’s not cheating!). And the point of this story is that I had to take my hat off to some of the writers around the table who created tiny masterpieces in just 10 minutes. I shouldn’t be surprised (or upset) if any one of them beat me to a writing prize (or a job with Hallmark).

And now I’m thinking I should have a go at throwing my hat into the ring and write about clichés.

Or cats with big teeth.

Leave a Reply

