Something To Talk About…

word rant - publisher jpgClearly the telepathy isn’t working any more, so I’m back to the blogging thingy.  With plans to report on how I’m doing as a writer, reader, photographer, cat lover, dog walker, chorister, eater of cheese and chocolate, and well – take a look at all those words  in the photo and you may get a hint of what I’m into.

I’m originally from Worcestershire (Elgar country, no less), but have lived in the west of Ireland (bog country, indeed) for the past 13 years, although you’d never guess from the accent.

Writing poetry and short stories is what I like to do, but I also have several novels on the go, one of them an exciting joint venture with my daughter.  Once a month at the Word Corner Café in the Dock Arts Centre in Carrick on Shannon I can be heard doing my performance poetry thing. There have also been a couple of sightings of me out with the Hermit Collective, a wandering band of artists, writers, musicians and more who do pop up shows in the west of Ireland  – check them/us out The Hermit Collective and please ‘like’ and ‘share’ the brand new Facebook page: The Hermit Collective Facebook

And if you’d like to read a story of mine, there are a few available on line (free of charge, of course!):

Five Staves and an Instant – which won me the 2015 HE Bates Short Story Competition

A Week Without Mary – which was published in the Mayo Advertiser in October 2015

Flying Lessons – which won me a nomination for the 2014 Hennessy Literary Awards

 

Leave a Reply

